I see by your outfit that you are a kitesurfer

Posted on

So much has happened in the past four days that it would be impossible to fully recount it all.  For whatever reason, the winds decided to pick up and blow.  And I mean consistent, not really gusty, and just perfect – about 15 on the low end and 25 on the high end.  These awesome winds have given me the chance to progress like crazy.

I have now had four days of being independent in a row.  When I say independent, I mean that Wilbur has not had to shadow my progress from the beach and come save me every 15 minutes or so.  I can’t describe how wonderful it is to not feel like a burden to anyone.  That being said…

On Sunday, I’m not even sure what happened, but I dropped my kite in the water.  I almost had it launched again, but a rogue wave nailed it and tacoed it all up in one big mess.  I was pretty much screwed.  Without even sending out a distress call, a much superior kiter came out of nowhere, straightened out my kite, and helped me launch it again.  For those who do not kite, I just can’t describe the relief I had to be receiving help and there is no way for me to describe how difficult that must have been.  This guy was still attached to his kite, had his surfboard to keep under control, and managed to look like helping me was as casual as a Sunday walk.  I aspire to be that good someday and repay the favor to another kiter.

The progress I have made is insane to me.  Most people I know tell me, “It will just click, one day you’ll just get it.”  I couldn’t disagree more strongly, and I envy those that experience this magical click.  The way I learn is not that easy, it is more Pavlovian.  So after much trial and severe error, I can now:
1.  Water start in about 2 inches of water.  This is huge.  No more getting pounded by shore break because I have to walk so far out to start.
2.  Stay upwind (if there’s enough wind, at least).  The felicity of not having to exit the water, walk 300 yards upwind and repeat is extraordinary.  I was never into slip’n’slides as a child and the feeling certainly hasn’t changed in the past 30 years.
3.  I LOVE riding over the waves.  I used to be scared of them, but now I keep an eye out and gun for them.
4.  I have developed an instinctual rhythm for power stroking my kite in low winds.  This is huge, and I may never forget the first time I realized that you can get just as much pull from sending the kite up as you can from diving it.
5.  I look where I’m going, not at the kite.
6.  I have now kited solidly in a pack of 10+ kiters for 3 days.  This is nuts to me.  I have always been petrified to kite around anyone else.  You have so much to think about since you have a power kite attached to you on 25 meter lines.  But I’ve gotten used to the rules of the road (anyone on a close tack has the right of way, if you are upwind you should fly your kite higher), and have done a good job of staying out of everyone’s way.

No pictures for now, we’ve been too busy kiting.  Hopefully more soon.

About girlkiter

I am a kitesurfing, rock climbing, tennis playing lover of all sports and the communities that they foster.

Leave a comment